God Has Greater Plans: Part 2

How do we know God’s plan for our life?

Jeremiah 29:11 states “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” It was established previously that God has a greater plan for our own lives than we have for ourselves. But we still love to take this verse and quote it without end about God’s plan for us. It is almost like a security blanket to some as they take comfort in knowing He is ultimately in control.

The problem comes when we don’t take time to understand the context and we neglect to continue reading. Here Jeremiah the prophet is speaking on behalf of God to the exiles that have been carried to Babylon from Jerusalem by Nebuchadnezzar. In verses 12 and 13 he states “Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Seek Me. Jeremiah said, “God says seek Me.” No where in the passage does it say “seek after what God wants you to do.” It says “Seek God.”  How many times are we guilty of saying “God, just tell me what you want me to do! Show me where I’m supposed to be and I’ll do it”? That’s not what God asks of us. God wants us to seek Him and Him alone, not the plan.

God does have a plan, but He doesn’t reveal it all to us because, as I know in my own life, I would just want to jump to the end messing up the entire learning process in-between. Or we would run in terror because we aren’t ready for the harsh reality we will have to face in His name. God’s plan is for you to seek Him. It is only when you seek Him that you will find Him. And when you find Him, He will be a light unto your path, day by day.

But, even at that, He never said it would be easy…

The previous comic can originally be found here on adam4d.com

This entry was posted in Discipleship / Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

