Overwhelmed? Can’t get ahead?

Ever been overwhelmed? Or like you can’t get ahead? Maybe even buried alive? For every one step forward, you take two steps back…Is there anyway to break the cycle? To move forward without falling behind? It’s like a cycle. The more I do, the more I accomplish. The more I accomplish, the more I see other things that need to be done. The more I see other things that need to be done, the longer my list gets. The longer my list gets, the more defeated I am. So why do it? I mean really? Some days I just want to throw up my hands and say “I give up! Forget it all God, I am not cut out for this.”

And He agrees. I wasn’t cut out for this. I wasn’t created to fulfill all my own expectations. I wasn’t meant to live with the stress of the world on my shoulders. And yet I do. We all do – aside from a few nut jobs who have it all figured out – But it’s because we bought into the lie of the world – The American dream. The success mentality…Work, work, work. Ya gotta stay one step ahead of the other guy. (I have no clue how the other guy does it cause I’m dyin’ over here). But, it’s the only way to be number one. It’s the only way to be somebody.

I did it the other day with my son at a soccer game. He spent more time running around the ball, jumping up and down, and cheering than he did actually playing soccer. IT DROVE ME CRAZY! I want to scream “GO AFTER THE BALL!” and actually did a time or two. It is so ingrained in me from the society in which we live. You have to win to be successful. They don’t even keep score at his age, but in my mind they just had to win! Don’t know how that’s possible without keeping score, but they had to. Really? He’s 6. Did he have fun? Let me just say he said “This is better than watching cartoons!” I can’t shake the success mentality.

Have you every really stopped to think how what you are doing is making an eternal impact on the lives of others? I mean, in the big scheme of things, does what you are doing really matter? We “do” so much to make ourselves “successful” in the eyes of the world, that we forget it’s not about us. We were created to worship and glorify Him. The more we get involved in the success mentality of the world, the less we reflect Him. The more time I spend working – whether it’s at my job or on my house, the less time I spend with my children. What’s more important: the formidable minds of my children or that the dishes are done in case someone randomly shows up at our door?

This would be what my wife would term “the pot calling the kettle black,” because in essence, I’m a workaholic. I love my lists. I love accomplishment. I love to cross things off. Unfortunately my children and wife are not things I can cross off my list everyday, so they get neglected. I don’t say unfortunately because I want to cross them off, I say unfortunately because they get neglected. When will I realize what really matters?

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:26 – God will provide. Such a simple statement. Such a daunting undertaking. It has taken me a long time to recognize this…a long time to understand it. Yet it doesn’t mean I live by it. A little further down the Scripture states: “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (6:34)

A good resource is a little book by Andy Stanley entitled “Choosing to Cheat.” The premise is that you will never get everything done at work, and you will never get everything done at home. You’re going to have to cheat somewhere, so do it where it really counts and has an eternal impact. So next time you feel buried alive…think about it. What are you going to do today that matters for eternity? Afterall, it’s not about you…

This entry was posted in Deny Yourself. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Overwhelmed? Can’t get ahead?

  1. Tracy says:

    Just what I needed to read and ponder considering I am loaded down with a garage full of boxes to empty. I have learned to not sweat the small stuff and keep to the important but forget all too often as well.

Leave a Reply

